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Before this Board is the Petitioner, Gregory Yokell and Shirley Andries,
husband and wife (collectively the “Taxpayer”) contesting the assessment and refund
denial of individual income tax by the Louisiana Department of Revenue and Taxation
(the “Department’) for the taxable year 2020. The issue before this Board is the proper
calculation of the income tax credit claimed by the Taxpayer for income taxes paid to
other states under La. R.S. 47:33. This Board held a trial on the merits in this matter
on December 7, 2022. Participating in the trial were: Gregory Yokell, representing
Taxpayer pro se, and Miranda Scroggins, representing the Department. After the trial,
the matter was taken under advisement.

BACKGROUND AND FACTS

The facts are not in dispute. Taxpayer is a Louisiana resident. For the tax year
2020, the Taxpayer sold property in the State of Arkansas which resulted in long term
capital gain to the Taxpayer of $120,591.00. Arkansas, like Louisiana, does not

provide for a rate differential between ordinary income and long term capital gains.



However, unlike Louisiana, Arkansas calculates the tax due on long term capital gains
by excluding one-half ('2) of that gain. Thus, on Taxpayers’ 2020 Arkansas Non-
Resident Income Tax Return, the Taxpayer reported gross Arkansas source income
(long term capital gain) of $120,591 on Arkansas Form 1000D (capital gain
worksheet), but reduced that amount by 50%, or $60,296.00, to compute Taxpayers’
non-resident Arkansas tax liability. On the Arkansas Non Resident Income Tax
Return, Taxpayer reported and paid income tax to Arkansas in the amount of
$3,178.00, in adciition to a penalty for failure to pay estimated taxes in the amount of
$189.00.

On Taxpayers’ 2020 Louisiana Individual Income Tax Return (Louisiana
Return), Taxpayer claimed a credit for taxes paid to other states of $3,378.00 (the
combined tax and penalty amount paid by Taxpayer to Arkansas). On Louisiana Form
R-10606 (Supplemental Worksheet for Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States),
Taxpayer reported the total gain of $120,961.00 in column 2 as “income earned in
other states”. The purpose of Form R-10606 is to calculate the limitations on the credit
provided in La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a), which in general terms limits the amount of the
credit allowed against an individual’s Louisiana Income Tax to the tax that would have
been paid on the income had it been earned in Louisiana. By using the gross long term
capital gain of $120,961.00 as the base for purposes of calculating the limitation under
La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5), the Taxpayers’ calculation resulted in a limitation of $4,730.00,
and since the total amount of the tax paid to Arkansas was less than the limitation, the
Taxpayers took the full amount of the credit against their Louisiana income tax
liability for 2020. Based on the evidence introduced at the trial on this matter, it

appears that as a result of the credit, Taxpayers claimed a refund of approximately

$900.00.



Upon review of Taxpayers’ 2020 Louisiana income tax return, the Department
partially disallowed the Taxpayers’ credit under La. R.S. 47:33. At trial, the
Department’s position was that Taxpayer earned $60,291.00 as income in Arkansas;
and therefore, under La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a), the limitation imposed against the credit
was not $4,730.00 as calculated by the Taxpayer, but rather $2,395.00. Since the tax
paid to Arkansas ($3,378.00) exceeded the limitation, the Department’s position is that
the Taxpayer’s credit allowable under La. R.S. 47:33 was limited to $2,395.00. That
adjustment resulted in the Department issuing a Notice of Assessment to the Taxpayer,
which in effect denied Taxpayer’s claimed refund and assessed an additional $76.00 in
tax, penalty and interest. It is from this assessment and the denial of the refund that the
Taxpayer timely appeals to this Board.

OPINION

La. R.S. 47:33 allows a credit against the Louisiana income tax for income taxes
paid to other states, providing in part:

(A) Subject to the following conditions, resident individuals
shall be allowed a credit against the taxes imposed by this
Chapter for net income taxes imposed by and paid to another
state on income taxable under this Chapter .

One of the conditions on the allowance of the credit is found in La. R.S.
47:33(A)(5)(a), which provides:

(a) The credit shall be limited to the amount of Louisiana
income tax that would have been imposed if the income
carned in the other state had been earned in Louisiana.

The purpose of the limitation found in La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a) is simply to keep
Louisiana from bearing the economic burden of the income tax imposed by states with
a higher tax rate than that of Louisiana. The legislative intent of imposing the

l[imitation is best understood with the following conceptual example. Assume a

Louisiana resident has earned income of $100,000 in Louisiana and $100,000 in New



York City. Assume further that the tax rate applicable in Louisiana is five percent
(5%) and the tax rate applicable in New York City is ten percent (10%). The
Louisiana resident pays $10,000 in taxes to New York City on that resident’s income
earned there. On the resident’s Louisiana income tax return, the resident would report
total income of $200,000, and total income taxes due the State of Louisiana (before the
allowance of any credit) of $10,000 (five percent (5%) of $200,000). Without the
limitation found in La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a), the resident would then claim a credit of
$10,000 in income taxes paid in New York, and owe zero taxes to the State of
Louisiana. However, the limitation results in an allowable credit of only $5,000,
calculated as if the $100,000 earned in New York was taxable in Louisiana, resulting
in a tax liability to the State of Louisiana of $5,000. Without the limitation found in
La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a), Louisiana would be deprived of the taxes it is owed on the
resident’s Louisiana source income. The logic and purpose of the limitation found in
La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a) is clear and sound.

Turning to the facts of the instant case, it is undisputed that the income (in the
form of a capital gain) earned by the Taxpayer in Arkansas was $120,961.00. The
dispute in this case centers on the calculation of the limitation under La. R.S.
47:33(A)(5)(a), with the Department advancing the position that the “income earned”
in Arkansas is one-half (2 ) of that amount, or $60,296.00, since that was the “tax
base” used by Arkansas in calculating the amount of Arkansas tax due. We disagree
with the Department’s position. The full amount of the gain was included in
Louisiana’s tax calculation, and the limitation shold be likewise be based on the
Louisiana tax on that income.

La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a) limits the credit for taxes paid to other states to the tax

that would have been due the State of Louisiana if the “income earned” in the other



state had been earned in Louisiana. We find that the income “earned” by the
Taxpayers in Arkansas for purposes of La. R.S. 47:33 was $120,961.00. We further
find that the 50% exclusion allowed by Arkansas is simply a component of the
calculation of the tax due the State of Arkansas by the Taxpayers’ on their “income
earned” in Arkansas. There is no dispute that had Arkansas merely reduced its income
tax rate in half on capital gains instead of allowing a 50% capital gain exclusion, the
Taxpayers’ Arkansas tax liability would have been the same and the credit would not
have been limited by La. R.S. 47:33(A)(5)(a). We note that the credit' taken by
Taxpayers did not reduce the taxes otherwise due the State of Louisiana on Taxpayers’
Louisiana source income. On this issue, we find in favor of the Taxpayer.

Finally, Taxpayers’ included in the calculation of their credit the $189.00
penalty paid to Arkansas on the failure to make estimated payments. We find that this
payment is not a payment of “income taxes imposed and paid to another state” for
purposes of La. R.S. 47:33. On this issue, we find in favor of the Department and
reduce the credit taken by the Taxpayers from $3,367.00 to $3,178.00.

Thus signed in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, this | 9\11; day of January, 2023.

For the Board:

LY V-

Francis J\ “Jay” Lobrano
Chairman, Louisiana Board of Tax Appeals

' See discussion below - the Taxpayer improperly included the $189.00 estimated

tax penalty as taxes paid to the State of Arkansas in Taxpayers’ credit calculation. This was an
error.



